Thursday, February 22, 2024
HomeSportsCricketWorld T20 Cup Venue: The Gabba

World T20 Cup Venue: The Gabba

The Gabba is the stadium that every Indian fondly remembers since the historic Test victory against the Aussies in the summer of 2021. Established in 1895 as the Brisbane Cricket Ground, the 36,000 seater stadium possesses the most lively cricket pitch in the world maintained by the best pitch curator, Mr. D. Sandurski. The ground in Queensland will be one of the World T20 Cup venue.

Just like the rest of the stadiums in Australia, The Gabba is a multipurpose stadium used for cricket, Australian rules football, association football, baseball and the iconic ‘Greyhound Racing’. The Gabba serves as the home ground to the Heat franchise in Australian T20 League, the domestic Queensland cricket team and the Lions franchise in the AFL. 

History of The Gabba

Located in Woolloongabba, Queensland, the first cricket match at the ground was played between Parliament and the Press on 19 December 1896. Sir Don Bradman scored a double century in the first-ever international test match played at the ground between Australia and South Africa in 1931. According to Australian cricket traditions, each November the Gabba hosts the first Test match of the cricket season.

The Gabba
Source : Queensland Cricket / Instagram

The ground will be the central venue for the 2032 Summer Olympics. As a result, the Australian Government will invest $1 billion and rebuild the grandstands to increase the seating capacity of the stadium and will introduce other world class facilities as well.

T20 Cricket Stats at The Gabba

The Gabba hosted the first ever T20I match held in Australia on 9 January 2006 between the home team and South Africa. The stadium has one of the most lively wickets, which offers consistent bounce to the bowlers and good carry-through to the wicket-keepers. The ground is one of the highest scoring venues in Australia and 200+ scores are a usual sighting at the Gabba.      

Total Matches: 6

Matches Won Batting First: 4

Matches Won Batting Second: 2

Average 1st Innings Score: 168

Average 2nd Innings Score: 145

Iconic Matches at The Gabba

During the Australia tour of 2018, India faced the Aussies in the 1st T20I of the series at the Gabba. Indian captain V. Kohli won the toss and elected to field first. In a match affected by rain, Australia scored 158 runs in 17 overs and Team India was given a target of 174 in 17 overs due to D/L method. Despite an inspiring 76 run innings from S. Dhawan, Men in Blue fell 4 runs short of the target and lost the match.  

World T20 Cup Schedule at The Gabba

October 30, Sunday 28th Match, Super 12 Group 2 Bangladesh vs B1
October 31, Monday 31st Match, Super 12 Group 1 Australia vs B2
November 1, Tuesday 32nd Match, Super 12 Group 1 Afghanistan vs A1
November 1, Tuesday 33rd Match, Super 12 Group 1 England vs New Zealand

*A1, B1 & B2 will be the winners of the group stage. 

The Gabba is all set to host some of the most exciting matches in this World T20 Cup. Join these matches on MyTeam11 and create your fantasy teams now to win exciting cash prizes. Apart from cricket, you can also join fantasy contests in football, kabaddi and basketball on MyTeam11. So what are you waiting for? Start Playing, Start Winning!




To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Most Popular