HomeCricketWorld Cup 2019: West Indies cricket Board announces 15-member squad

World Cup 2019: West Indies cricket Board announces 15-member squad

The West Indies cricket board has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming biggest cricket tournament and the big news is the return of all-rounder Andre Russell after his energetic performance for Kolkata Knight Riders this IPL. Medium Pacer, Shannon Gabriel has also been included in the squad and this will be his first appearance in West Indies Jersey since 2017.

All-rounder, Jason Holder has been given responsibility to lead the side in the tournament. The ‘Universal Boss’, Chris Gayle, who this year has scored 424 runs at a strike rate of 134.17 in four ODI matches against England, will play a key role in the team’s success. This will be his fifth and most probably last appearance in the World Cup. 

John Campbell, who opened with Chris Gayle against England this March, has not been included in the squad. In place of him, Evin Lewis is named as an opener in the squad.

The batsmen picked in the squad are Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, and Shimron Hetmyer. Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Fabian Allen, and skipper Jason Holder are the four all-rounders included in the squad. 

The fast bowlers picked in the squad are Kemar Roach, Holder, Gabriel, Thomas and Sheldon Cottrell, while Ashley Nurse along with Fabian Allen will see the spin bowling department. 

Nicholas Pooran is the reserve wicketkeeper in the squad, and Shai Hope has been named as the second wicketkeeper.

Here’s 15-member squad

                       Players name 


Jason Holder

Captain & all-rounder

Chris Gayle


Andre Russell


Darren Bravo


Fabian Allen


Shimron Hetmyer


Carlos Brathwaite


Oshane Thomas


Nicholas Pooran

Wicket Keeper

Evin Lewis


Ashley Nurse


Shai Hope

Wicket keeper

Shannon Gabriel


Kemar Roach


Sheldon Cottrell


Follow MyTeam11 for more information and updates about the latest Sportsstuff.


Most Popular