HomeCricketWorld Cup 2019: 10 teams with their warriors for the deadliest cricket...

World Cup 2019: 10 teams with their warriors for the deadliest cricket battle


The Australian cricket team world cup record has been outstanding. Being the most successful team of World Cup, Australia has lifted the world cup trophy for five times in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015, respectively. Besides, this they were the runners up in 1975 and 1996 World Cup. 


Clive Lloyd and Ricky Ponting are the only captain to win the world cup twice.

Glenn McGrath is the highest wicket taker in World Cup history (72).


Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Alex Carey, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Nathan Lyon.


Indian cricket team has lifted the World cup trophy twice in the year 1983 and 2011. Apart from being the first hand champions, Indian team was the runners up in the 2003 World Cup. 


Chetan Sharma is the only Indian bowler to get hat-trick in 1987 world cup.

Sachin Tendulkar is the highest run getter for India in World cup (2,278)


Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami


England team hasn’t lifted any World Cup trophy yet. But, they were the runners up of biggest championship for three times i.e. in 1979, 1987 and 1992 world cups. 


England is the only country to host the most number of World Cups.

In 2011 World Cup, Ireland defeated England. 


Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood (replacement yet to be announced for Alex Hales)

South Africa 

South Africa has never made it to the world cup finals yet. They have played semifinals 4 times always with a hope of getting through the game, but luck always played dirty tricks as haven’t won the match. 


AB de Villiers is the fastest batsman to reach 150 in World Cup.

AB de Villiers holds the record for hitting most sixes in World Cup along with Chris Gayle. (37)


Faf du Plessis (c), Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi

New Zealand 

New Zealand team made it to the 2015 World Cup finals, but lost to Australia. So, this time the fans will be expecting the team to lift their maiden World Cup title. 


Martin Guptill holds the record for highest individual score in World Cup history. He scored 237 runs against West Indies in 2015 World Cup. 

Brendon McCullum holds the record for fastest fifty in World Cup (18 balls fifty) against England in 2015 World Cup.


Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Tom Blundell (wk), Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Colin Munro, Ish Sodhi, Henry Nicholls, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Jimmy Neesham

West Indies 

West Indies is the first team to win the World Cup. They have won the cup twice (1975 & 1979). Besides this they were the runners up of 1983 world cup.


Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels holds the record for highest partnership in world cup history (372 runs) against Zimbabwe. 

Roy Fredericks, a West Indian, was the first batsman to be dismissed in the form of hit wicket. He hit the stumps while going to defend the short ball in 1975 World cup


Jason Holder (c), Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Ashley Nurse, Fabian Allen, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope (wk), Oshane Thomas, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis.

Sri Lanka 

In the 1996 world cup, after defeating Australia in the finals, Sri Lankan team lifted their maiden World Cup trophy. Apart from this, they were the runners up for consecutive two times (2007 and 2011).


Kumar Sangakkara holds the record for the most dismissals by a wicket keeper (54) in a world cup tournament. 

Kumar Sangakkara has scored the most centuries in a single World Cup (4 in 2015).


Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffery Vandersay, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana


Pakistan lifted their first world cup trophy in 1992 after defeating England in the finals. Apart from this, they made to finals of 1999 world cup, but didn’t manage to beat Australia. 


Shahid Afridi has a unique record of taking four wickets or more wickets in a match in four world cups.

Pakistan has never beaten India in a World cup match.


Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk, c), Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shoaib Malik


Bangladesh national cricket team has first appeared in Cricket World cup in 1999. Their highest achievements in World cup is that they have reached the quarter finals of 2015 World cup. 


Bangladesh defeated India in 2007 world cup in group stage due to which India was knocked out of the tournament.

Mohammad Mahmudullah is the first Bangladeshi batsman to score a century in 50 over World Cup. 

Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed


Afghanistan made its debut in 2015 world cup. So, this will be their second world cup. 

Gulbadin Naib (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 

Let's see which of the Lions will roar the loudest & get away with the trophy. Till then, stay tuned to MyTeam11 for the latest sports stuff.


Most Popular