HomeCricketWhat’s in store for Indian Cricket Team in 2020?

What’s in store for Indian Cricket Team in 2020?

From Test to ODIs, 2019 has been a spectacular year for Team India with multiple wins. The ‘Men In Blue’ have contributed to several victories across all formats and finished the year as No.1 in Tests, second in ODIs and fifth in the T20I rankings. As 2020 is here, there is a lot to look forward to and Virat Kohli & Co. are geared up to take the excitement beyond boundaries. Starting with India-Sri Lanka T20I, the main focus of the team will be on the World Cup T20 trophy. Under the captaincy of talismatic player Virat Kohli, the team will accomplish many feats in the upcoming series and there is a lot of pressure on the team to maintain their winning streak to the optimum level.

Here is the schedule of Team India for the year 2020:

India vs Sri Lanka

The three-match T20I series is about to commence tomorrow. The first match is scheduled on January 5th followed by the second match on January 7th and the last one on January 10th. All the matches will begin at 7 PM and the venue for the three matches are: Barsapara Cricket Stadium (Guwahati), Holkar Cricket Stadium (Indore) and Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium (Pune) respectively.

India vs Australia

As the Sri Lanka series draws to a close, India will compete with the Aussies for short T20I series. The first match will be played on January 14 at Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai). Then, the second match will take place on January 17 at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium (Rajkot). Lastly, the third fixture will be held on January 19 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bengaluru). As per schedule, each match is slated to take place at 2 PM.

India Tour of New Zealand

Following the home series, India will be prepared for one of the biggest overseas challenge against the Blackcaps. ‘Men In Blue’ will be playing 5 T20Is, 3 ODIs, a three-day practice match and two Test matches against the Kiwis.

T20I series:

1st T20I: January 24 (Eden Park, Auckland)

2nd T20I: January 26 (Eden Park, Auckland)

3rd T20I: January 29 (Seddon Park, Hamilton)

4th T20I: January 31 (Westpac Stadium, Wellington)

5th T20I: February 2 (Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui)

ODI series:

February 5, 1st ODI (Seddon Park, Hamilton)

February 8, 2nd ODI (Eden Park, Auckland)

February 11, 3rd ODI (Bay Oval, Mt Maunganui)

Test schedule:

February 21, 1st Test (Westpac Stadium, Wellington)

February 29, 2nd Test (Hagley Oval, Christchurch)

India vs South Africa

After wrapping up the long series down under, India will fight it out with the rivals, the Proteas. South Africa team will arrive in India for the three-match ODI series to be played from March 12 to March 18.

1st ODI: March 12 (Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamshala) from 2 PM IST

2nd ODI: March 15 (Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow) from 2 PM IST

3rd ODI: March 15 (Eden Gardens, Kolkata) from 2 PM IST

Indian Premier League 2020

After the fierce face-off against the Proteas, the 13th edition of the popular Indian T20 League will begin from 28th March to 24th May (tentative dates). The governing council is yet to finalize the schedule. If the 2019 auctions for the league were so exciting, then the viewers can expect the league to be beyond extraordinary!

World Cup T20 

As the mania of Indian T20 League winds up, Indian team will head to Australia for the most significant tournament of the year – World Cup T20. This is the seventh edition of the World T20 and India will kick-start their campaign against South Africa on 24th October.

1st Group Game: South Africa, October 24 (Perth Stadium) from 4.30 PM IST

2nd Group Game: Qualifier, October 24 (Melbourne Cricket Ground) from 1.30 PM IST

3rd Group Game: England, November 1 (Melbourne) from 1.30 PM IST

4th Group Game: Qualifier, November 5 (Adelaide Oval) from 2 PM IST

4th Group Game: Afghanistan, November 8 (Sydney Cricket Ground) from 1.30 PM IST

If India qualifies from the group stages, the semi-finals will be conducted on November 11 and 12 respectively and the final will take place on November 15th.

England’s tour of India

Prior to the grand event T20 World Cup, England will fly to India for a limited-over series from September to October. It includes three ODIs and three T20Is.

A movie buff, a sports enthusiast and an aspiring writer. I explore the world through my writing and take my readers on a poetic ride!

Most Popular