HomeCricketWest Indies Squad For World T20 Cup 2024

West Indies Squad For World T20 Cup 2024

Ahead of the World T20 Cup 2024, the West Indies squad has been announced. The two-time winners are playing their second World T20 Cup at home, having done the same in 2010. 14 years back, the team finished in the Super Eight round. This time around, they would like to perform much better, after having missed out on 50-over World Cup qualification last year.

The former champions have been slated in the Group C alongside 2021 finalists, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea and debutants, Uganda. Barring any upsets, the likes of West Indies, New Zealand, and Afghanistan are likely to fight for two Super Eight spots. 

West Indies Squad: R. Powell (c), A. Joseph (vc), J. Charles, R. Chase, S. Hetmyer, S. Hope, A. Hosein, S. Joseph, B. King, O. McCoy, G. Motie, N. Pooran, A. Russell, S. Rutherford, R. Shepherd. 

Reserves: K. Mayers, M. Forde, F. Allen, H. Walsh, and A. Fletcher

The team will be led by Powell, who will fulfill the responsibility in the World T20 Cup for the first time. In the 2022 edition, Pooran led the side that bowed out in the first round after losing to Ireland and Scotland. Hetmyer, who missed out in 2021 and 2022 due to his own tardiness, isn’t likely to miss his flight this time around. 

For more blogs like this, visit MYTEAM11.com. Download the MYTEAM11 app if you want to play fantasy cricket.


Most Popular