HomeCricketWarner Returns for Sydney Test as Australia Announces the Squad for Final...

Warner Returns for Sydney Test as Australia Announces the Squad for Final Two tests

Cricket Australia has announced the 18-man squad for the final two Tests, and they have included David Warner in the side after missing out first two Tests due to injury. CA has also confirmed the venue for the third Test, and it will be played at SCG. The New-year Test will be called Pink Test to raise funds for McGrath’s foundation. 

Out-of-form Australian opener Joe Burns has been dropped from the squad, and Will Pucovski has been included for the third and fourth TestBurns scored just 63 runs in 4 innings in the ongoing Test series at an average of 21, and he had poor numbers in recent times. Warner and Will Pucovski are likely to open for Australia if Warner earns the Test fitness before January 07. 

Pucovski is expected to make his Test debut against India at the SCG. The domestic performer suffered an injury during the Pink Ball practice game in SydneyAustralia would try to bounce back after a poor outing in MCG. The series is now leveled with 1-1 after India’s 8-wickets victory in Boxing-Day Test. It’s not confirmed yet that Warner will be available for the selection. He has recovered from the injury and started the training. The Third Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will start from January 07 in Sydney. 

Australia squad for final Two Tests: 

Matthew Wade, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Moises Henriques, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Mitchell Swepson, Will Pucovski 


Most Popular