Virat Kohli Named ICC Men’s Player of the Decade

India’s success in ICC Awards continues as the Indian captain Virat Kohli has been announced the Men's ICC Player of the decade. More than 1.3M fans from across the globe have cast over 5 million total votes. Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade is based on the player’s performance in all formats of cricket during 2010-2019.  

These were the nominations for the Player of the Decade award:  

R Ashwin (India)

Virat Kohli (India)

Joe Root (England)

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Steve Smith (Australia)

AB de Villiers (South Africa)

Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Virat Kohli also wins the ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Decade. Afghanistan's star spinner Rashid Khan has grabbed the Player of the Decade award in the T20I format. Steve Smith wins the ICC Men's Test Player of the Decade award

Ellyse Perry wins the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Female Cricketer of the Decade. She also wins the ODI and T20I cricketer of the decade for the extra-ordinary numbers for Australia. MS Dhoni wins the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade. The former Indian skipper called back English batsman Ian Bell after a runout in the Nottingham Test in 2011. 

Earlier, Indians earned so many features in ICC’s teams of the decade. The former Indian captain MS Dhoni named ODI and T20I captain who won India ODI World Cup and Champions Trophy in this period. India appeared in the knock out stage of each and every ICC event from 2013 and MS Dhoni led India on four occasions. Virat Kohli was also named the Test captain. Under him, India retained its number one position in the longest format of cricket and currently, they are in the top two of the World Test Championship. 

ICC’s T20I Team of the Decade: 

Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (c), Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga 

ICC’s ODI Team of the Decade: 

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni (c), Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Imran Tahir, Lasith Malinga

ICC’s Test Team of the Decade: 

Alistair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Kumar Sangakkara, Ben Stokes, Ravi Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, James Anderson