HomeCricketVirat Kohli and Ashwin Earn Nominations In ICC’s Player of the Decade...

Virat Kohli and Ashwin Earn Nominations In ICC’s Player of the Decade Award

International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the nominations for the ICC Decade Awards. It’s big news for Indian fans that Indian captain Virat Kohli and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin have been nominated for the prestigious ICC Player of the Decade Award.

Apart from these two players, ICC has also picked seven other players from other countries. The batting fab four has been included in the list. England’s Joe Root, New Zealand’s captain Kane Williamson, Australian sensation Steve Smith, South African legend AB de Villiers and former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara have been selected.

ODI and Test Player of the Decade Award 

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni have earned the nominations in the ODI Player of the Decade list alongside Virat Kohli. MS Dhoni has led India to ODI World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013. Captain cool has scored more than 10000 runs in ODI format and is regarded as one of the finest batsmen in the shorter format. 

Rohit Sharma scored three double centuries in ODI format, which is a world record, and he is also close to touching the figure of 10000 runs mark in ODI format. Kohli has earned the nomination with outstanding figures in white-ball. The Indian captain scored 42 hundred in ODI format, and he is the next who can break Tendulkar’s ODI records. 

Alongside three Indian stars, Lasith Malinga and Sangakkara also earned nominations in this list. Mitchell Starc and AB de Villiers are the two non-Asian players in the list. 

In Test player of the decade awards, Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, James AndersonRangana Herath, and Yasir Shah have been nominated

T20 Player of the Decade Award

Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kohli, Imran Tahir (South Africa), Aaron Finch (Australia), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Chris Gayle (West Indies), and Rohit Sharma (India) have been nominated for the Men’s T20I Player of the Decade.

Women’s Player of the Decade Award 

In the Women’s category, Mithali Raj earned the only nomination from India. She is the only Asian player on the list. Mithali has led India to two World Cup finals in 2005 and 2017. She is the highest run-scorer in women's international cricket. She was named as one of the players in the ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year. 

Nominations for ICC Women’s Player of the Decade

Ellyse Perry (Australia), Meg Lanning (Australia), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Mithali Raj (India), Sarah Taylor (England)

Women’s T20I Player of the Decade

Meg Lanning (Australia), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Alyssa Healy (Australia), Anya Shrubsole (South Africa) 

Women’s ODI Player of the Decade

While, Meg Lanning (Australia)Ellyse Perry (Australia), Mithali Raj (India), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Jhulan Goswami (India) 

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade

Virat Kohli (India)Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), MS Dhoni, Anya Shrubsole (England), Katherine Brunt (England), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand) 


Most Popular