HomeCricketThe Virat-astic storm: Indian Skipper adjudged with top 3 ICC Awards, etches...

The Virat-astic storm: Indian Skipper adjudged with top 3 ICC Awards, etches history

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Tuesday, announced the famous ICC awards to reward the cricket players for their contribution to the game. The event was quite a talk of the town with the most eye-catching announcement being Virat Kohli awarded with 3 ICC awards. 

The Indian skipper on Tuesday amid the ICC event bagged the top three ICC awards. The player was felicitated with the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men's Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year, respectively. With this achievement, Kohli became the first player to win all the three top-notch ICC awards. 

Virat, not only won the top three awards of ICC but was also announced as the captain of the ICC Test Team and the ODI Team of 2018. Virat’s bagging the top order awards & being named as the captain of teams by ICC proves how significantly Viratis helping the team with his enthralling performance & effective leadership skills. 

The 30-year-old Indian skipper who holds a total of 1322, 1202 & 211 runs from 13 Tests, 14 ODIs and T20Is, respectively, was elated with his achievements. The player was quoted as saying, "It feels amazing. It's a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game."

"To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation," the player further added. 

This is consecutively the second year when Virat has been awarded the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer. Also, Virat was previously awarded with the ODI player of the year awards twice, first in the year 2012 & then in 2017. 

Others who were awarded in the event include Rishabh Pant, Calum MacLeod, Aaron Finch, and Williamson. Pant was adjudged as the ICC Emerging Player of the Year, whereas MacLeod managed to bag the ICC Associate Player of the Year. On the other hand, Finch and Williamson managed to get away with the title of T20I Performance of the Year and the ICC Spirit of Cricket, respectively. Meanwhile, Kumar Dharmasena was awarded the title of Umpire of the Year.

We look forward to Virat achieving various milestones in coming times. Till then if you are looking for some crisp, exciting & latest sports stuff, then keep watching MyTeam11.


Most Popular