HomeCricketSri Lanka T20I Squad announced for India Tour; Angelo Mathews returns

Sri Lanka T20I Squad announced for India Tour; Angelo Mathews returns

Sri Lanka on Wednesday announced the 16-member T20I squad for India’s tour, starting from January 5. Sri Lankan cricket board recalled the former skipper Angelo Mathews to the squad. The team will be led by Lasith Malinga and the squad will leave Sri Lanka on Thursday.

Mathews is making a comeback in the T20I squad after 16 months of absence. The 32-year-old played his last T20 international against South Africa in August 2018, where he led Sri Lanka to a three-wicket victory.

The veteran all-rounder’s career has been consistently paused due to recurring injuries. However, he has been playing regularly in Tests and ODIs for Sri Lanka over the last year or so, but only as a specialist batsman. 

Seamer Kasun Rajitha has been also included in the squad as a replacement for the injured fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep. Pradeep was initially included in the squad but the pacer sustained an injury during practice sessions.

The first T20I between India and Sri Lanka will be played on January 5 at Guwahati followed by matches on January 7 in Indore and January 10 in Pune.

Sri Lanka squad: Lasith Malinga (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Isuru Udana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Kusal Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan and Kasun Rajitha.


Most Popular