HomeCricketRohit Sharma named ICC ODI Player of the Year 2019

Rohit Sharma named ICC ODI Player of the Year 2019

Indian opening batsman, Rohit Sharma has been named 'ODI Player of the Year' by ICC. The star opener finished the Year 2019 as the highest run-getter in the ODI format. Rohit amassed 1490 runs last year at an average of 57.30. Rohit smashed 7 hundreds and 6 half-centuries in 28 ODIs. 5 out of his 7 tons came in the World Cup 2019 in England & Wales. Rohit scored a whopping 648 runs in the event before India got eliminated in the semi-final by New Zealand.

Australian pacer Pat Cummins has bagged the 'Test Cricketer of the Year' award for finishing the year 2019 as the leading wicket-taker. Cummins scalped 59 wickets at an average of 20.13 in 23 innings.

Ben Stokes, who enjoyed a dream run in 2019, has won the '2019 Men's Cricketer of The Year.' Stokes won the World Cup 2019 for England and played one of the greatest Test Innings of all time at Headingley and clinched a famous victory in Ashes 2019.

While congratulating all the award winners, ICC Chief Executive said: “On behalf of the ICC, I would like to congratulate all of the individual 2019 award winners as well as those players named in the ICC Teams of the Year".

“The awards celebrate the world’s best cricketers and this has undoubtedly been an extraordinary year for men’s cricket. The highlight of course was the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 that ended in such dramatic fashion. Ben Stokes was, of course in the midst of all the action during the event from that quite incredible catch at the Oval right through to that epic final at Lord’s and is a very deserving winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy”, he further added.


Most Popular