HomeCricketRohit Sharma Dropped , India’s squad for Australia Tour Announced

Rohit Sharma Dropped , India’s squad for Australia Tour Announced

BCCI announced India’s squad for upcoming Australia tour, starting from November 27. India’s white-ball vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been omitted from the squad due to an injury concern. The captain of Mumbai faced an injury during the ongoing Indian T20 League 2020 and he hasn’t recovered yet. The in-form KL Rahul has been appointed as the new vice-captain of India’s T20 and ODI squad. The Punjab captain has also marked his comeback in the Test squad. 

The senior national selection panel of BCCI announced the squads for four Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is, starting from November 27 and ends on January 19. BCCI also spoke to media and assured that their medical team will continue to monitor the progress of Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma’s fitness. 

Hardik Pandya, who was hardly seen in international cricket since 2019 WC and last played for India in September 2019, has been included for the limited-overs series. The mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy also earned the maiden T20I call-up who recently got a fifer against Delhi in Indian T20 League fixture. 

Kuldeep Yadav has been dropped after his poor performances and selectors also avoided Suryakumar Yadav. Sanju Samson has been retained as selector showed no interest in Rishabh Pant after his mediocre show with the bat. Pant has been included in Test squad only. Mohammed Siraj and Navdeep Saini have also been included in the Test squad. Selectors have included pacers Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel and T. Natarajan as the backup fast bowlers who will also travel with the main squad. 

India will also play their first-ever Pink-Ball Test in overseas and the test specialists like Pujara and Hamuma Vihari has reached Dubai along with the coaching staff to prepare for the tour. This is the first assignment for Team India since March. India is the reigning champion of Border Gavaskar Trophy, winning the last series 2-1. 

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (VC & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (VC & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

Test squad: Virat Kohli (C), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar, Ajinkya(VC), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj


Most Popular