HomeVolleyballPro Volleyball League: Six More International Players Enter The Squad For Inaugural...

Pro Volleyball League: Six More International Players Enter The Squad For Inaugural Edition

As the most-anticipated Pro Volleyball League is around the corner, the league adds six more international ace players for the first season. The league kick starts on February 2 in New Delhi and the first season will witness a riveting battle between the teams vying for the ultimate title. The professional indoor volleyball league is an initiative by Volleyball Federation of India and Baseline Ventures to raise the benchmark of the fifth most popular sports in the world, and it encompasses six franchises, each team representing six cities across the Indian subcontinent. Each team is filled with a quota of 2 foreign players in the squad consisting of 12 members and the warriors are all set to begin the action-packed game.

The high octane Volleyball action will commence with some fantastic players who were selected during the first draft of the league. Where Novica Bjielica was picked by Ahmedabad Defenders, Carson Clarke was chosen by Black Hawks Hyderabad. The other players who found their position in the various teams include Rudy Verhoeff who will play for Chennai Spartans, Paul Lotman for Calicut Heroes, David Lee for Kochi Blue Spikers and Tomislav Coskovic for U-Mumba Volley.

In the second draft, the auction resulted in some smashing players entering the squad with Slovakian Andrej Patuc in Kochi Blue Spikers, Russia’s Victor Sysoev in Ahmedabad Defenders, Canada’s Alex Bader in Black Hawks Hyderabad, Republic of Congo’s Illouni Ngampourou in Calicut Heroes, Canada’s Nicholas Del Bianco in U Mumba Volley and Latvian Ruskans Sorokins in Chennai Spartans.

Throwing light on the new addition of international players, the Co-Founder  and MD of Baseline Ventures, Mr. Tuhin Mishra, has mentioned in an interview that these experienced players from across the globe who have joined the league hold a splendid stature in their respective teams and after the second draft, all the teams comprise balanced squads with players known for their prowess.

Patuc, who will be part of the Kochi franchise, has an unparalleled experience of 15 years whereas Del Bianco began his club volleyball career with Trinity Western Spartans and has represented countries like Germany, Switzerland, and France. Sysoev has an extended experience of 14 glorious years starting with Lokomotiv Novosibirsk team. On the other hand, Sorokins, who will join Chennai Spartans, has a career spanning 21 years across Latvia, Kazakhstan, and France among others.

The six franchises participating in the inaugural edition of the league are Kerala’s Calicut Heroes which is owned by Beacon Sports, Ahmedabad Defenders owned by Bonhomie Sports Event Mgmt. Ltd., Chennai Spartans by Chennai Spartans Pvt. Ltd., U Mumba Volley owned by U Sports,  Kochi Blue Spikers by Thomas Muthoot, and Black Hawks Hyderabad is owned by Agile Entertainment Pvt. Ltd.

The league will feature 18 matches with each team playing against one another in a round-round format to make it to the semi-finals, and this tournament will be an exciting treat for the volleyball addicts. The first season will be conducted at Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium in Kochi and Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Chennai.  

The players are ready to pull out all the stops and emerge as the champion and viewers are glued to this most-awaited game filled with thrills and electrifying performances.


Most Popular