Saturday, December 9, 2023
HomeSportsCricketNew Zealand Announces Squads For WI Series, Williamson-Boult Rested from T20s

New Zealand Announces Squads For WI Series, Williamson-Boult Rested from T20s

New Zealand Cricket have revealed their squads for the T20s and Tests for the upcoming home series against West Indies. It will be the first international assignment for Kiwis since the COVID-19 outbreak. With this series, New Zealand will also kick start their home summer. Black Caps have added uncapped player Devon Conway to the T20I side, who had good numbers in the domestic T20 tournament. Kane Williamson and Trent Boult will only feature in Test matches. Both players are coming off a busy schedule of the Indian T20 League, and to prepare for the Test series, the board has given rest to these two players. Tim Southee will lead the side in the T20s. 

Kyle Jamieson has earned the maiden T20 call-up after a good performance in ODI and Test debut against India earlier this yearSoutheeRoss Taylor, and Jamieson will only be available for the first two matches before joining the Test squad.

There’s no secret we’re right in the hunt for the World Test Championship Final following our two-nil win over India, and having Trent and Kane fully fit and focussed for the upcoming series will be crucial,” Gary Stead, New Zealand Head Coach, said.

Kiwis are also concerned about the injuries as their two major Test players Colin de Grandhomme, and Ajaz Patel, are still in recovery. The duo has been picked in the 13-man squad. 

“Colin and Ajaz have quite different injuries which are requiring a different return to play protocols. It’s too early at this stage to definitively say what their chances are, but we’re hopeful the next two weeks will make that clearer,” Stead said.

New Zealand T20I Squad:

Tim Southee (c), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert (wk), Ross Taylor

New Zealand Test Squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Will Young

MyTeam11 Desk
MyTeam11 Desk
A creative team of writers exploring the sports world from each & every end to serve you with exciting and engaging sports feed. Stay updated with all the recent occurences with our latest updates.  


To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Most Popular