HomeCricketMumbai vs Hyderabad, Indian T20 League 2020, Match Preview

Mumbai vs Hyderabad, Indian T20 League 2020, Match Preview

Defending champions takes on Hyderabad in the first game of Sunday’s double-header in Indian T20 League 2020

Match Timings: Oct 04, 3:30 PM 

Team Preview 

High-flying Hyderabad meets confident Mumbai in the first double-header fixture on Sunday. Hyderabad edged past Chennai to add consecutive wins in the league after a poor start in the tournament. Warner backed their bowlers to defend the total and posted 162, after a compact rescue from young Abhishek and Priyam Garg in flag-overs. Hyderabad found their best combination as their middle-order was tested in the previous game and they delivered the success. Abdul Samad also provided full 4-overs spell. Bhuvi’s injury on Friday might be a big concern and his availability is in doubt. Hyderabad still relies on their overseas players but the success of Indian players in the last game gave them a big relief. 

Meanwhile, Mumbai’s alternative win-lose show continues. After a narrow super-over defeat to Bangalore, Mumbai clinched a 48-runs victory over Punjab. Pollard was terrific with the bat as Mumbai added more than 100 runs in last 6 overs to change the momentum. Mumbai might give the debut cap to Chris Lynn on Sunday after a big failure from De Cock in first 4 games. Mumbai’s team combination is way better than Hyderabad. Pollard and Pandya can change the game within few balls and Bumrah can provide the depth in death. Mumbai is pretty strong on Sharjah with high-class batting. Toss will be very crucial to decide the outcome. 

Pitch Report 

Sharjah’s track is a batting paradise. It offers a good amount of runs due to the short boundary. Bowlers can gain nothing from the track. Chasing is always a good call but any 200 plus score would create trouble for the chasing sides. 

Possible XI 


Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock/Chris Lynn, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah


David Warner (c), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan 

Key Players 


Kieron Pollard 

Previous outings – 47 (20), 60 (24) 

Rohit Sharma 

This season so far – M: 4, Runs: 170, Avg: 42.50 


Rashid Khan 

This season so far – M: 4, Wickets: 4, Eco: 5.12 

Jonny Bairstow 

This season so far – M: 4, Runs: 119, Avg: 29.75 


Most Popular