HomeCricketMumbai vs Delhi, Indian T20 League 2020, Match Preview

Mumbai vs Delhi, Indian T20 League 2020, Match Preview

The top two sides of Indian T20 League 2020, Delhi and Mumbai will face each other in the Sunday double-header. 

Match Timings: Oct 11, 7:30 PM IST 

Team Preview 

The defending champions are going strong to defend their title in UAE. After winning 4 out of six, Mumbai is placed at number two in the table. The best part in Mumbai unit is their collective effort. De Cock and Suryakumar Yadav both scored half-centuries in back-to-back matches to solve some issues in top-order. They have two firepowers like Pandya and Pollard who can change the outcome of the come within few balls. The spinning duo Krunal and Chahar are also impressive in middle-overs. Their pace-attack is also showing good numbers on UAE’s tracks. Mumbai now are a most balanced side and with a strong run-rate, they are one of the top contenders to finish in top two. 

Meanwhile, Delhi has lost just one game from their six games and sitting at the top of the table with 10 points. In the previous game, they defended 184 on a surface like Sharjah. Ponting’s mind is creating positives between players and Iyer’s moves on the ground are working for them. With a fine top-order and solid middle-order, they are the side who can dominate any bowling attack. Rabada and Nortje are commendable in pace. Ashwin and Axar are delivering the same with the spin. The Mumbai task might test their skills and they have to show their top games on Sunday. They cannot make mistakes, they did against Rajasthan in batting but bowlers rescued them comfortably.

Pitch Report 

Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi is now getting a bit slower and it offers plenty of help to spin. Batting on any UAE track is not so difficult but Chasing sides suffered issues in the last few games. In the night game, the dew might be a big thing but still, it won’t create any difference in the game. 

Possible XI 


Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah


Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Key Players 


Rohit Sharma 

This season – M:6, Runs: 211, Avg: 35.17 

Jasprit Bumrah 

This season – M:6, Wickets: 11, Avg: 17.82   


Kagiso Rabada 

This season – M:6, Wickets: 15, Avg: 12.33  

Prithvi Shaw

This season – M:6, Runs: 198, Avg: 33  


Most Popular