Match Report: Hyderabad vs Bangalore, Indian T20 League 2020

The dominant Hyderabad registered fourth win in a row to knock out Bangalore from the Indian T20 League 2020. In the eliminator game, Warner’s troops restricted Bangalore on a mere total of 131, and Hyderabad chased down the target, riding on the batting brilliance of Kane Williamson and the all-round display from Holder. Hyderabad will now face Delhi in the second qualifier on November 08 in Abu Dhabi. 

Toss: Hyderabad opted to bowl first 

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi 

Detailed Match Report 

Virat Kohli promoted himself up in the order, but the decision went wrong as Holder picked him in his first over behind the stumps. Devdutt Padikkal was also off the colors, and Holder got him early on just 1. Finch and ABD put a steady stand to recover Bangalore. Nadeem’s 11th over gave Bangalore two more blows as Finch, and Moeen Ali both got out in the same over. ABD tried to rescue the innings, but Rashid's economical spell kept Bangalore controlled in middle overs. 

Natarajan bowled the finest delivery of this match by picking ABD with a pinpoint yorker. Holder and Natarajan both were exceptional with the ball, picking three and two wickets, respectively. With tight bowling, in the end, Hyderabad restricted Bangalore to 131. 

The new pair didn’t work out for Hyderabad as they lost Goswami on a 3-balls duck in the chase. Warner and Pandey controlled the game and added quick runs in the powerplay. Siraj picked his another as Warner got out on 17. Kohli added four spinners in the side, and he made full use of them on this challenging track. Adam Zampa bowled a tight spell, and in his 2nd over, he picked Manish Pandey to put Bangalore in a commanding position. At the halfway mark, Hyderabad was 60/3, Garg and Williamson in the middle. 

Chahal struck for the first time in the match and picked Garg to put more pressure on Hyderabad. Holder joined Williamson and Kohli went for more spin as Moeen Ali was also introduced. The duo rotated the strike and avoided playing big shots against the spin. Zampa and Chahal both conceded just 36 runs in their 8-overs spell and got two crucial wickets. Williamson played a sheet-anchor and finished the match by scoring his 14th half-century in Indian T20 League. Match went into the final over and Hyderabad hold the nerve to win the match by 6 wickets. 

Star Performer of the Match 

Jason Holder is our star performer of the match. Warner tried him in the powerplay, and he got the big fish in his first over by picking Kohli. In his next over, he got Bangalore’s star batsman Devdutt Padikkal. He came in his final spell and got Shivam Dubey to complete his three-wickets haul. He came to bat at the crunch situation and helped his side to cross the line along with Kane Williamson. 

Top 5 players who made an impact in the game 

Jason Holder 4-0-25-3 & 24 (20) 

AB de Villiers 56 (43) 

Natarajan 4-0-33-2 

Mohammed Siraj 4-0-28-2 

Kane Williamson 50 (44)