HomeCricketMatch Report: Bangalore vs Chennai, Indian T20 League 2020

Match Report: Bangalore vs Chennai, Indian T20 League 2020

Chennai finally broke their losing streak after upsetting confident Bangalore on a challenging track, riding on youngsters. Gaikwad scored a fine half-century to lead Chennai an 8-wickets win in Dubai. 

Toss: Bangalore opted to bat first 

Team Changes: Monu Kumar & Mitchell Santner come in (Chennai) 

Moeen Ali comes in (Bangalore) 

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai 

Detailed Match Report 

Dubai’s surface was tough to bat today and Kohli opted to bat first. Sam Curran scalped Finch to give first blow and Santner sent Padikkal on 22 in 7th over. Bangalore’s batting pillars Kohli and ABD batted according to the pitch as the heat was also playing a role in this challenging surface. The duo added 82 runs with an excellent running between the wicket. Chennai got ABD out after 36-balls 39 and Kohli on the other side completed his half-century. In last 2 overs, Bangalore lost three wickets and Chennai restricted them on 145 which was an imposing total on this track. Curran picked up a 3-wickets haul.   

Chennai’s chase off to a good start as Plessis and Gaikwad added 46 runs in 5 overs before Morris scalped Plessis on 13 balls-25. Ambati Rayudu joined Gaikwad and put a steady stand to put Chennai on driver’s seat. Gaikwad completed his fabulous half-century. Chahal broke the 67 runs stand after removing Rayudu on fine 39. Chahal was pretty economical in his spell, conceding just 21 with one wicket. Young Gaikwad and Dhoni finished the game with ease to guide Chennai home.   

Star Performer of the Match 

Ruturaj Gaikwad is our star performer of the match. The young opener had a huge pressure after a duck in the previous game. He put a good start with Plessis and showed steadiness with Rayudu. Later, he finished the chase with his skipper to guide Chennai an 8-wickets victory. He scored unbeaten 65, including 4 fours and three sixes. 

Top 5 players who made an impact in the game 

Virat Kohli 50 (43) 

Sam Curran 3-0-19-3 

ABD 39 (36) 

Ruturaj Gaikwad 65 (51) 

Ambati Rayudu 39 (27) 


Most Popular