HomeCricketMatch Preview: India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI

Match Preview: India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI

The visitors registered a majestic victory in the T20Is, whitewashing the hosts to register their maiden T20I win in New Zealand. With this victory, Team India became the first-ever team in history to win a 5-game T20I series 5-0. Now that the T20Is are over, the teams gear up for the 3-game ODI series beginning on February 5. The first ODI will be set in motion at the Seddon Park in Hamilton Tat 12.30 PM IST. 

The Men in Blue are already high on confidence after their terrific win while the Black-caps will be eyeing towards earning their lost pride back. The last ODI game these two teams played against each other was the World Cup 2019 semi-final, wherein India was handed-over a heart-breaking defeat. While we talk about the team’s previous performances at the venue, then, Hamilton is the lion’s den for the Blackcaps whereas India has always had a tough time playing at the venue. 

New Zealand has won 20 matches out of the 29 games they’ve played at the Hamilton pitch whereas India has quite a bad track at the pitch. The only ODI team India lost on their last tour to New Zealand was the Hamilton game. Thus, it would be interesting to see whether team India will be able to continue their dominance in the ODIs too? Or will the ball be in New Zealand’s court this time?

Team News


Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the series after he sustained a calf injury in the last T20 game. Mayank Aggarwal has been announced as his replacement for the ODIs. Shikhar Dhawan still remains unavailable for the series while Navdeep Saini, Prithvi Shaw, are the other names included in the squad. 

Probable Playing XI: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

New Zealand 

New Zealand skipper who was unavailable for the 4th and 5th T20I games, will also not be available for the first two ODIs, owing to his left shoulder injury. Mark Chapman will be r4eplacing Williamson in the squad.  Tom Lathan has been announced as the captain for the series.

Probable Playing XI: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Mark Chapman, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (C & WK), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Hamish Bennett, Ish Sodhi, Kyle Jamieson.

Key Players

New Zealand

Martin Guptill

Ross Taylor


KL Rahul

Virat Kohli 


Total: 107

India: 55

New Zealand: 46

No result: 5

Tied: 1 


Most Popular