HomeCricketIndian T20 League: Mumbai beat Delhi to Win 5th title

Indian T20 League: Mumbai beat Delhi to Win 5th title

Riding on a half-century by skipper Rohit Sharma & Trent Boult's figures of 3/30, Mumbai clinched its 5th Indian T20 League title on Tuesday. The team defeated Delhi to seal a 5-wickets win.

Toss: Delhi Capitals won the toss and opt to bat

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Detailed Match Report

Delhi started slow with its top-order collapsing within the first 4 overs of the game. Both Marcus Stoinis and Ajinkya Rahane fell short in front of Trent Boult's defensive attack, being made to walk back with scores of 0 & 2, respectively. Delhi's former star performer, Shikhar Dhawan failed to impress but did manage to put some runs on board before he was picked by Jayant Yadav. Skipper Shreyas Iyer and keeper-batsman Rishabh Pant took charge of the inning providing stability to the team with a crucial 96-run partnership before Coulter-Nile bagged Pant's wicket in the 15th over. Rishabh Pant played a great 56 off 38 balls inning after being unfruitful for a long time. With this amazing performance showcase, Pant became the second youngest to hit a 50+ score in the final match of an Indian T20 League season. Iyer went on to score an unbeaten 65 off 50 but couldn't find the kind of support that could help Delhi wrap its inning with a defendable score, from any of the remaining members of the team. The team could only manage to put 156 runs on board.

Mumbai looked balanced on both ends as Trent Boult & Nathan Coulter-Nile hit Delhi with their masterclass bowling picking 3 & 2 wickets, respectively. Skipper Rohit Sharma showcased a brilliant performance with his knock of  68 runs off  51 balls comprising of 5 boundaries and 4 sixes. Quinton de Kock lost his wicket early in the game courtesy of Delhi's previous match star, Marcus Stoinis. A miscommunication between Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav cost the latter his wicket on a mere score of 19 runs. Ishan Kishan provided the much-required support to Rohit Sharma, and with a partnership of 47-run, the duo helped Mumbai reach the winning zone before Rohit was caught by Lalit Yadav on a Nortje ball. Kieron Pollard entered the field all charged & hit Nortje for back-to-back fours before Rabada struck in the 18th over to pick Pollard's wicket & give an interesting twist to the game. Mumbai ended the game & the season with a 5-wicket win against Delhi to shatter the latter's hopes of winning their maiden title. 

Star Performer of the Match

Rohit Sharma is our star performer of the match. With a crucial contribution of 68 off 51 balls, the player managed to lay the foundations of Mumbai's victory & deliver a fantastic inning.  

5 Players who changed the game 

Shreyas Iyer: 65 (50)

Rishabh Pant: 56 (38)

Rohit Sharma: 68 (51)

Trent Boult: 4-0-30-3

Nathan Coulter-Nile: 4-0-29-2


Most Popular