HomeCricketIndia vs Bangladesh: Statistical Highlights

India vs Bangladesh: Statistical Highlights

On Sunday, India won their maiden Day-Night Test in front of 20,000 people that lasted a little over two days as the hosts thrashed Bangladesh by an innings and 46 runs. Virat Kohli and Ishant Sharma were the stand out performers with the bat and ball respectively. India was dominant from day one as they bowled out Bangladesh for a paltry score of 106. The Indian batting, powered by Virat Kohli’s century, produced a big first-innings lead. The pace attack ruled the roost in the second innings as well and bowled the visitors for 195 completing their third whitewash of the season.

Here are some of the statistical highlights of the Match

  • India won their 7th consecutive Test match on Sunday, which is now their longest winning streak. The previous longest streak was of six wins in 2013 under the leadership of M.S Dhoni.
  • India have become the first team to win four successive Tests by an innings. They won the first two against South Africa and the last two in this series.
  • It was India's first home Test win without a single wicket from a spinner. It was only their second such win overall, after Johannesburg in 2018.
  • At 968 balls, this was the shortest Test with a result in India, beating the 1028 balls against Afghanistan last year. 
  • With the declaration in the first innings, India holds the record of the most number of successive declared Test innings for a team. England were the previous record holder as they had managed six consecutive declared Test innings in 2009.
  • Mominul Haque becomes the first captain to register a pair against India in a Test match history.
  • With a partnership of 99 in the first innings, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane have become the second most successful partner for the fourth wicket. Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane have put 2,767 Test runs so far for the fourth wicket partnership.
  • Wriddhiman Saha became the fifth Indian wicketkeeper to reach the 100 dismissals milestone in Test career. MS Dhoni (294 dismissals), Syed Kirmani (198 dismissals), Kiran More (130 dismissals) and Nayan Mongia (107) are the other four wicketkeepers in this list.
  • Virat Kohli scored his 20th Test century as captain and surpassed the former Australian captain Ricky Ponting to become the second most centurion as a Test captain. Former South African captain Graeme Smith is on top of this list with 25 centuries as a Test captain.
  • Virat Kohli becomes the fastest Test captain to score 5,000 runsHe is the first Indian captain to do so.


Most Popular