HomeCricketIndia announced 15-member squad for South Africa T20 series, Dhoni excluded

India announced 15-member squad for South Africa T20 series, Dhoni excluded

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 15-member T20 squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa starting from 15 September on Thursday. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who missed the last limited-overs seen against West Indies will further not be seen in the home series against South Africa as team play three T20s and as many ODI matches. 

Dhoni, who had taken a two-month sabbatical from the sport, is currently vacationing in the United States, having served the Territorial Army for 15 days. It couldn't be ascertained whether the selectors spoke to Dhoni about his availability for the home series against South Africa. Going strictly by the date of the squad selection for the tour of West Indies (July 21), Dhoni's "self-imposed break" officially ends on September 21, a day before the final T20 International against the Proteas.

The current selection committee headed by MSK Prasad "wants to look ahead" and sources in the know of things said that the 38-year-old World Cup-winning former skipper is "not in their scheme of things".

Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav, who have been a regular face in India’s limited-overs squad have been left out of the T20 squad. Rahul Chahar, on the other hand, has been given an extended run in T20Is and will be seen representing. This remains to be seen if Chahar can cement his place in the shortest format of the game.

India's squad for 3 T20Is against South Africa: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.


Most Popular