Monday, March 4, 2024
HomeSportsCricketICC expands WC Teams and Resumes Champions Trophy from 2025

ICC expands WC Teams and Resumes Champions Trophy from 2025

ICC made some big moves in international cricket in its board meeting. They have now expanded the ODI World Cup teams to 14 and the Men's T20 World Cup will now comprise 20 teams. ICC has also clarified that T20 WC will be held every two years in the next commercial cycle 2023-31. It means, after the 2022 T20 WC, we will see T20 WC every second year. 

2023 WC will feature 10 teams but the 2027 men's ODI World Cup will feature 14 teams. ICC decided to expand this biggest event which will be held every four years. T20 WC will also be expended as the tournament will comprise 20 teams

The ICC has also taken a vital step for the ODI format and they have now decided to resume the Champions Trophy from 2025. The tournament will comprise the top eight ranked teams. The last edition was played in 2017. 

The ICC Board has also decided to retain the World Test Championship in the next cycle and the system will be the same. This event boosted Test cricket in the last two years. 

MyTeam11 Desk
MyTeam11 Desk
A creative team of writers exploring the sports world from each & every end to serve you with exciting and engaging sports feed. Stay updated with all the recent occurences with our latest updates.  


To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Most Popular