HomeCricketICC Awards: Rohit Sharma ODI Cricketer of 2019, Pat Cummins named Test...

ICC Awards: Rohit Sharma ODI Cricketer of 2019, Pat Cummins named Test Cricketer of the year

ICC on Thursday announced the winners of their Annual Cricket Awards. Indian star opener Rohit Sharma was named ODI Cricketer of 2019 for finishing the year as the leading run scorer in ODIs. Rohit scored 1490 runs last year at an average of 57.30. Rohit smashed 7 hundred and 6 half-centuries in 28 ODIs. Australian pacer Pat Cummins was adjudged as the Test Cricketer of the year by ICC. Cummins scalped 59 wickets at an average of 20.13 in 23 innings.

England all-rounder Ben Stokes won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year after a stunning 2019. Stokes made some match defining contributions with both bat and ball for England and was Man of the Match in the World Cup final.

Australian middle-order batter Marnus Labuschagne, who is having a dream run in the longest format of the game, bagged the ‘Emerging Player’ award. The 25-year-old who replaced Steve Smith as a concussion replacement in the Ashes, scored 1,104 runs in 11 Tests. He was at 110th spot in ICC Test Player rankings during the start of 2019, and he finished at 4th position.

India’s young pacer Deepak Chahar won the ‘Men’s T20I Performance’ of the year for his career best performance (6 wickets for 7 runs) against Bangladesh in November 2019.

Scotland’s top-order batsman, Kyle Coetzer, won the ‘Associate Cricketer of the Year’ award. Coetzer led Scotland to the T20 World Cup qualifier and averaged over 48 in ODIs throughout 2019. 

Here is the complete list of ICC award 2019 winners:

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Best Cricketer of the Year – Ben Stokes (England)

Test Cricketer of the Year – Pat Cummins (Australia)

ODI Cricketer of the Year – Rohit Sharma (India)

T20I Performance of the Year – Deepak Chahar (India, 6-7 v Bangladesh)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

Associate Cricketer of the Year – Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)

Spirit of Cricket Award – Virat Kohli stopping the fans booing Steve Smith at the Oval

David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year – Richard Illingworth


Most Popular