Sunday, March 3, 2024
HomeSportsCricketICC Announces the Dates for Women’s World Cup 2022, Christchurch to Host...

ICC Announces the Dates for Women’s World Cup 2022, Christchurch to Host the Final

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the revised schedule for the 2022 ICC Women's World Cup. The mega event was scheduled to be played in 2021, but ICC postponed it due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The biggest ICC event in Women’s Cricket will kick start from March 4, and the final will be played on April 03. Hagley OvalChristchurch will host the final under lightsThe semifinals will be played at the Hagley Oval and Basin Reserve.

New Zealand’s six cities will host 31 matches across eight teams. Here’s the list of all venues for the tournament: 

Auckland (Eden Park)

Hamilton (Seddon Park)

Tauranga (Bay Oval)

Wellington (Basin Reserve)

Christchurch (Hagley Oval)

Dunedin (University Oval)

Five teams have already qualified for the World Cup, including India. The other teams are New Zealand, Australia, England, and South AfricaThe three remaining teams will be decided through the ICC qualifying tournament, scheduled to start from June 26 and end on 10 July 2021 in Sri Lanka. The opening match will be played between New Zealand and another team from the qualifiers. The second semi-final and the final will be day-night contests. 

ICC Women's Cricket World Cup CEO Andrea Nelson, said, "Our team is proud to be delivering a tournament where Kiwis across the whole country, in each of our six host cities, can really get involved in what is a truly special event. We can't wait to see the excitement build around New Zealand as we prepare to roll out the welcome mat for the rest of the world. Major events like this one are all about creating a genuine legacy for the sport, and we are proud to say our tournament was the catalyst for the installation of the Hagley Oval lights. I'd like to thank the New Zealand Government and the Canterbury Cricket Trust for making that happen."

England are the defending champions who defeated India in the final of ICC CWC 2017. They will begin its campaign against Australia on March 5 at Seddon Park. The runner-ups of the last edition, India, will begin its campaign on March 06 against one of the qualifier teams. 

Here’s the schedule of India in World Cup 2022: 

Bay Oval, Tauranga

Sun 06 Mar 2022 Qualifier v India

Wed 16 Mar 2022 England v India

University Oval, Dunedin

Thu 10 Mar 2022 New Zealand v India

Sat 12 Mar 2022 Qualifier v India

Tue 22 Mar 2022 India v Qualifier

Eden Park, Auckland

Sat 19 Mar 2022 India v Australia

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Sun 27 Mar 2022 India v South Africa

The knock-out stage: 

Basin Reserve, Wellington – Wed 30 Mar 2022 Semi-Final 1

Hagley Oval, Christchurch – Thu 31 Mar 2022 Semi-Final 2

Sun 03 Apr 2022 Final

MyTeam11 Desk
MyTeam11 Desk
A creative team of writers exploring the sports world from each & every end to serve you with exciting and engaging sports feed. Stay updated with all the recent occurences with our latest updates.  


To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Most Popular