HomeCricketEngland announced 15-member squad for New Zealand series, Bairstow dropped from Tests

England announced 15-member squad for New Zealand series, Bairstow dropped from Tests

After levelling the series against Australia in the five-match Ashes Test series, England team is all set to take on New Zealand in their home conditions. The Englishmen have been able to dominate in home conditions and will be looking to continue their stint in the first away series after World Cup triumph at Lord's. The team will play five T20 Internationals and two Tests which is scheduled to start on November 1. However, the visitors will play two practice T20Is before they take on Kan Williamson's men. 

Interestingly, white-ball star performer Jonny Bairstow, who had a memorable Indian Premier League (IPL) and World Cup, didn't look in the best space against red cherry. Further to this, England selectors have dropped the wicket-keeper batsman from the longest format of the game. Openers Zak Crawley (Kent) and Dom Sibley (Warwickshire) earn maiden call-ups, along with the Lancashire pair of fast bowler Saqib Mahmood and leg spinner Matt Parkinson. Surrey batsman Ollie Pope has also earned a recall.

ALSO READ: Afghanistan vs Bangladesh FINAL Match Prediction

James Anderson continues to recover from a calf injury and will work towards proving his fitness for the tour of South Africa in December. Jason Roy, who missed the final Test, has also been dropped. With Bairstow absent, Jos Buttler will take the gloves.

The Yorkshire keeper-batsman averaged just 23.77 in the recent Ashes series in keeping with a downturn of form that has seen him hit just three hundred in his last 56 innings (since the start of 2017). He does, however, make the T20 squad.


Test squad: Joe Root (c), Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jack Leach, Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Ollie Pope, Dominic Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes

T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, James Vince


Most Popular