HomeCricketEllyse Perry named as ICC Women's Cricketer of the year

Ellyse Perry named as ICC Women’s Cricketer of the year

The ICC on Tuesday announced that Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry has claimed the Women's Cricketer of the Year for 2019 while also being crowned with the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award. The award was last year bagged by Smriti Mandhana.

The all-rounder also bagged the ICC Women's ODI Player of the Year after a dominating year in the shorter format. 

Perry has had a dream year across all formats. She averages 73.50 from 12 ODIs this year, where she has also taken 21 wickets, including a national record 7/22. She became the first player to complete 1,000 runs and 100 wickets in T20I cricket.

Expressing her gratitude, Perry said "It's an amazing honour and I'm a little bit shocked, given how many amazing performances there have been across the year."

"It's amazing to be acknowledged and I do truly appreciate it. It’s a really nice way to finish the year on a personal note," she added.

Perry’s opening partner Alyssa Healy walked away with Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second time.

Alyssa Healy scored 148* off 61 balls against Sri Lanka and entered the record books. The wicket-keeper batter reached her maiden hundred off just 46. It was the fastest century ever by an Australian man or woman.

ICC also announced the Women’s ODI and T20I team of the year. Indian opener Smriti Mandhana was named in both the International Cricket Council's ODI and T20I teams of year.

Jhulan Goswami, Poonam Yadav and Shikha Pandey also made it to the ODI team.  All-rounder Deepti Sharma and spinner Radha Yadav were included in the T20I team of the year.

The Emerging Cricketer of the Year award went to Thailand's Chanida Sutthiruang. The seamer took 12 wickets at this year's ICC Women's T20 World Cup qualifier,

ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year 

1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia

2. Smriti Mandhana – India

3. Tamsin Beaumont – England

4. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia

5. Stafanie Taylor – West Indies

6. Ellyse Perry – Australia

7. Jess Jonassen – Australia

8. Shikha Pandey – India

9. Jhulan Goswami – India

10. Megan Schutt – Australia

11. Poonam Yadav – India

ICC Women's T20I Team of the Year 

1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia

2. Danielle Wyatt – England

3. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia

4. Smriti Mandhana – India

5. Lizelle Lee – South Africa

6. Ellyse Perry – Australia

7. Deepti Sharma – India

8. Nida Dar – Pakistan

9. Megan Schutt – Australia

10. Shabnim Ismail – South Africa

11. Radha Yadav – India


Most Popular