Saturday, December 2, 2023
HomeSportsFootballCristiano Ronaldo Wins Prestigious Golden Foot Award

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Prestigious Golden Foot Award

The legendary Portuguese footballer and Juventus superstar, Cristiano Ronaldo, won the 18th edition of the Golden Foot Award. He has beaten Barcelona star Lionel Messi, Bayern-forward Robert Lewandowski, and Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah. This award is voted for by the public from a shortlist of 10 players. It’s an annual prize which was first introduced in 2003. A player can only win the award once in their career. 

The other players nominated for this award were Messi, Lewandowski, Giorgio Chiellini, Neymar, Sergio Ramos, Sergio Aguero, Gerard Pique, Salah, and Arturo Vidal. Ronaldo also gets to have a cast of his foot laid down in the Champions Promenade in Monaco.

The president of the Italian club, Andrea Agnelli, was also awarded the first Golden Foot Prestige. In 2019, Modic won this award, and surprisingly, Messi hasn’t won it yet. Ronaldo led his club Juventus to the Serie A title in 2019-20. In the last career season, he notched up 37 goals and six assists.

Here is the list of 18 footballers who have won the Golden Foot award so far: 

2003 – Roberto Baggio
2004 – Pavel Nedved
2005 – Andriy Shevchenko
2006 – Ronaldo Nazario
2007 – Alessandro Del Piero
2008 – Roberto Carlos
2009 – Ronaldinho
2010 – Francesco Totti
2011 – Ryan Giggs
2012 – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
2013 – Didier Drogba
2014 – Andres Iniesta
2015 – Samuel Eto'o
2016 – Gianluigi Buffon
2017 – Iker Casillas
2018 – Edinson Cavani
2019 – Luka Modric
2020 – Cristiano Ronaldo

MyTeam11 Desk
MyTeam11 Desk
A creative team of writers exploring the sports world from each & every end to serve you with exciting and engaging sports feed. Stay updated with all the recent occurences with our latest updates.  


To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Most Popular