HomeCricketBreaking Down New Points System of WTC 2021-23

Breaking Down New Points System of WTC 2021-23

World Test Championship’s first edition was a great success featuring some thrilling Test encounters and it really helped Test cricket to revive. Teams made their full interest in the longer format of cricket. The second cycle of the WTC will kick start with the India-England series and it will end in 2023. 

Number of Matches and Format 

The number of matches will be different for each side but number of series will be the same. England will play 21 matches which is the highest by a team and India will play 19. India, England, and Australia are the only teams that will participate in the 5-match Test series. India and Australia are the only teams that will play the 4-match Test series. This is the big reason why these teams will play the most number of matches. 

There is no change in the format and each team will play six series. Three series will be played at home and three will be away series. 

New Points System 

The apex cricket governing body ICC has devised a comparatively streamlined points system in the second cycle of WTC. There were some remarks on the last edition’s points system. To avoid any discrepancy in the next cycle, this edition has a different points system. 

In the previous edition, 120 points were attributed from a series and teams got points according to this. It has some flaws if the team plays less number of games and most number of games. 

The new edition will see a maximum of 12 points per match. Teams will be ranked on the percentage of available points they won from the matches they have played. We saw how covid made big changes in the points system and New Zealand got the biggest advantage due to this system without playing their full matches. 

Operation of Points System for WTC 2021-23 

Points for a win: 12

Points for a draw: 4

Points for a tie: 6

Penalties for slow over rates- one point deducted for every over they fall behind

The top two teams will meet in the final which will be played in 2023 and India might host the final this time. Nine teams will participate in WTC 2021-23. If you want to see Team India’s schedule for WTC 2021-23. See here: 


Most Popular