HomeCricketBest XI for Indian T20 League 2020

Best XI for Indian T20 League 2020

Indian T20 League’s 13th edition ended on November 10 with Mumbai’s record 5th triumph. Defending champions successfully defended their title to become 2nd team in the tournament history to retain the trophy for a successive year. In today’s special segment, we are picking our best XI for Indian T20 League 2020 according to the player performances. 

Openers – KL Rahul & Shikhar Dhawan

In the opening slot, KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan both are the best choices. Rahul has the Orange Cap this season and he remained consistent with the bat throughout the tournament, scoring 670 runs at an average of 55.83. With no Rohit Sharma at the top, we pick KL Rahul as our captain and the wicket-keeper. Along with Rahul, Dhawan is perfect for opening. The left-handed batsman took his side to the maiden final, scoring a total of 618 runs in the tournament, including two consecutive hundreds. He also improved his strike rate (144.73) this season. 

No. 3 – Ishan Kishan 

At No.3, we have Ishan Kishan in place of Virat Kohli. He played an important role to guide Mumbai to its 5th title. He batted as an opener in the absence of Rohit Sharma and gave a fluent start in the powerplays. In middle-overs, he played a sheet-anchor for Mumbai. Kishan smashed most sixes this season and aggregated 516 runs with a strike rate of 145.76. 

No. 4 – Suryakumar Yadav

At No. 4, Suryakumar Yadav will be a good option who scored 480 runs this season at an average of 40. The Mumbaikar played natural cricket and he was effective against the spin. In middle-overs, he rotated the strike and in the flag, he provided the acceleration. 

ABD will be our first overseas player in the side and will bat at No. 5. We also had an option of Stoinis but ABD won the race with his brilliance in T20s. He snatched victories from the jaws of defeat for Bangalore and helped them to crack playoffs since 2016. 

No.6 – Rahul Tewatia

At No.6, we were confused between Pandya and Rahul Tewatia. We gave a final nod on Tewatia who was a surprise package this season. After pulling off a great chase against Punjab, Tewatia showed consistency in both departments. He won a crucial match against Hyderabad with a match-winning stand with Riyan Parag. Scoring 255 at an average of 42.50, he also bagged 10 wickets at an economy rate of 7.08. 

Spinners – Rashid Khan & Yuzvendra Chahal 

We are picking two spinners in the side and it was an easy call to pick Rashid and Chahal there. Rashid was outstanding and he was carrying Hyderabad’s hope with his bowling. He finished the season with an economy of just 5.37 and picked 20 wickets in the middle-overs. Meanwhile, Chahal scalped 21 wickets and was a big reason behind Bangalore making it to the playoffs. 

Pacers – Jasprit Bumrah, Jofra Archer & Trent Boult 

On the three remaining slots, we’re picking the three best pacers of the season. First is Jasprit Bumrah, the best bowler of the tournament. Use him in powerplay, middle-overs, or flag-overs, he will give you wickets anyhow. Rabada was the purple-cap holder but Bumrah was one step ahead of him, picking major wickets and he bowled economical spells for Mumbai. 

Jofra Archer was the MVP of the season and he will be our 2nd pacer. The entire bowling of Rajasthan was revolving around Archer. He scalped 20 wickets from 14 matches at an average of 18.25 with an economy of just 6.55. 

Trent Boult is our final pick as the third pacer. It was a tough call to drop Rabada here but Boult’s ability was extra-ordinary. There was not a single flaw in his bowling. He picked early wickets for Mumbai and Rohit used him in the powerplay. Boult picked 25 wickets from 15 matches at an average of 18.28. 

Here’s the final XI for Indian T20 League 2020: 

KL Rahul (C & WK), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers*, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan*, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jofra Archer*, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult* 

12th player – Marcus Stoinis


Most Popular